A GUIDE TO
If you are considering filing for divorce in Texas, you may have questions about what is involved and how long the process may take.
This guide will help answer those questions.
What is a divorce cooling off period?
Generally, a divorce waiting, or cooling off, period specifies the minimum amount of time between filing paperwork and finalizing a divorce.
Texas mandates a 60 day cooling off period.
What is no-fault divorce?
In a no-fault divorce, you do not need a reason for divorce other than that you and your spouse do not get along.
The Texas Family Code law allows for a no-fault divorce.
Are there residency requirements?
There are two residency requirements for filing a divorce in Texas.
One spouse has to have been a resident of Texas for a continuous six-month period.
One spouse must have lived in the county where the divorce is filed for at least 90 days.
Can my spouse prevent a divorce?
No. Only one spouse has to file for and agree to a divorce in Texas.
How is property divided?
Texas is a Community Property state. When a divorce is filed, all property is presumed to be Community Property
Property owned before the marriage
Property given to a spouse as a gift during the marriage
Separate Property Includes
Property inherited during the marriage
We are committed to zealously working to find the solution that is best for you and your family.
A divorce lawyer can guide you through the process, explain the law, and represent your interests.
Talk to an attorney